Ancillary Task 1 – Poster 2 Planning

For this Poster Planning I have decided to choose a second poster idea that I would like to make as a final poster. I liked this photograph because I didn’t expect it to turn out as well as I thought it would. I personally didn’t think it meant much because it doesn’t show much. However, then I came up with the idea that this image could in-fact be interesting as an poster because it keeps the audience intrigued into thinking what it could be about as it doesn’t give anything away.

 

IMG_4322
Original Image

I personally like how it doesn’t show much because it lets the audience interpret what they want from the poster as to what the film will be about. It also gives across the fear of the unknown feeling, which is what I like seeing as it’s based on the horror genre, and as long as the poster gives across the idea that its in the horror genre. I wanted to incorporate the knee-high boots as it creates the illusion that this is the antagonist character, as she is all in black and that creates a negative effect, but as an audience you dont know whether the person shown is the antagonist or protagonist as there is not hints to either character. I did end up cropping the image for my final poster idea as I preferred it more vertical than horizontal, it also let the typography fit in better.

IMG_4322 2
Edited Image

This is my edited photograph that I edited on Photoshop. Now I have edited the photograph it relates to the horror/fantasy genre more than it did in the original photograph. I decided to use the contrast and brightness tool in order to darken the wooded area and the boots, also to create the black indents within the image, I decreased the brightness making it more eerie looking as it would be a stereotypical convention of the horror genre. I used the gradient tool, which creates the foggy washed out look. I like how effective this looks because it creates the darker shades at the bottom of the photograph, slowly blending out too the water creating a lighter effect. The paint tool I used on the vivid light effect on 8% really makes the wood she’s standing on stand out and looks creepy and old. I used it around the corners and on the boots as well as the bottom edge of the photograph to make it look more 3 dimensional.

Leave a comment